A Printmaking April

I have spent April going to printmaking groups – some by Bristol Print Collective, and some at the Greenbank Print Club, both of which I will definitely be going back to.

Painterly monoprinting near Bristol Marina – using caligo inks, and playing with different mark making tools, water and inks. The layers build up, adding more each time. It’s a process of playing and seeing what happens – at this stage for me it’s unpredictable and uncontrolled, which makes it all the more fun.

Botanical book making at Arnolfini – it was part of BABE (Bristol Artists Book Event) which I loved.

We made folded concertina books, using a pasta machine to apply pressure, and using dried flowers to create different textures. I added the poem using alphabet stamps later. It is so satisfying to produce a book, though what came through the pasta rollers was hard to predict and impossible to control! Photo credit of the printmaking process: Bristol Print Collective.

All that is gold does not glitter…not all those who wander are lost…  J.R.R. Tolkien

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And this is from mono printing at the Greenbank pub! The figure is from a sketch I did years ago on my Art Foundation course. The phrase is a work in progress – I want to make a print of the Loving Kindness meditation – May I be happy, may I be healthy, May I live at ease.  

Leave a Reply

